Background and Use of This Site

An Allegory of the Bible WILLIAM BLAKE

The painting, above, may be found at http://www.museumsyndicate.com/item.php?item=611

My dear friends, I originally posted this page on January 21, 2011, over three years ago. At that time I conceived of this blog as an exploration of biblical interpretations as revealed in the paintings, sculptures, mosaics, and other artistic expressions, as reflected and inspired by my Sunday school class.

I recently revised my home page a second time.  You will see that this blog has developed a life of its own, not unlike the lives of each of us, revealing to us experiences and places beyond our wildest dreams as children.

As indicated on my home page, I have only recently recognized that this blog reveals little of me, except as it may ooze to the surface of what I believe to be a sound, scholarly examination of Christian art, architecture, music, philosophy and theology. Accepting that this blog has merely reflected my intellection, I will now attempt to reveal what Robert E Wheeler believes and how he, personally, responds to each of these sections of his blog. I can’t wait to meet this guy. I hope I like him, and if I don’t, I hope I will surrender him to his Higher Power, my Higher Power, trusting that I may grow into the likeness, the image, of God, my Higher Power, an image we each uniquely reflect: many bodies, many names, many cultures, but each participating in one Great Spirit.  For me, this is nowhere expressed so vividly, yet simply and beautifully as in the first verse of the Tao, cited in Dr. Wayne W Dyer’s book, Change Your Thoughts – Change Your Life: Living the Wisdom of the Tao:

1st Verse

The Tao that can be told

is not the eternal Tao.

The name that can be named

is not the eternal name.

The Tao is both named and nameless.

As nameless it is the origin of all things;

as named it is the Mother of 10,000 things.

Ever desireless, one can see the mystery;

ever desiring, one sees only the manifestations.

And the mystery itself is the doorway

to all understanding.

 

In my original post with regard to the first section on the graphical arts, I gave this introduction:

I had gathered from the internet pictures of art masterpieces from around the world that were inspired by Biblical scenes from Genesis through Revelation.  I led our Sunday School through a six month study of those masterpieces.

My undergraduate degree was in band and vocal music.  I also taught the humanities.   I have maintained an avid interest in the visual arts, but have no formal education in them.  I learned a lot from my Sunday School’s observations of the paintings, and this will be a great opportunity to learn from others who visit this site.

The Sunday School class preferred to read the accompanying scripture and simply explore the painting.  I projected the painting on a television screen as we read the scripture.  Most usually I would ask, “What do you see?”  Verbalizing such observations often led to other observations or questions of “what is that?” or “and I see. . .”  The class loved to explore the painting and through that might ask what the painter meant to “say” or express in the painting or, like any good art, they might be led to an interpretation that arose from the experiences they brought to the scripture or the painting.  Good art does that.  These works of art could be used as a focus of individual meditation or as the basis of group discussion of the scripture, the subject or the art.

I will select certain masterpieces for single post study, provide links to the internet sites where the pictures of the paintings and comments of others may be found, and I may make my own observations.  My Sunday School class loved the study.  I hope you enjoy it, also.

I expect that my daughter, Hilah, will join me in this blog.  She minored in Art History in college, therefore has specific training for this undertaking, and she has a great appreciation for and understanding of great art.

I welcome any comments or observations you may have concerning interpretation or analysis of the painting as it relates to the scripture.

For expert advice on how to get the most of your viewing of the following art masterpieces, see http://smarthistory.khanacademy.org/skill-of-describing.html.  It also contains video concerning aesthetics relating to  the visual arts representation and abstract, concepts, and contexts, and related subjects.

next page: https://bibleartists.wordpress.com/2011/01/22/creation-of-adam-michelangelo/

previous page: https://bibleartists.wordpress.com/2011/01/22/the-bible-through-artists-eyes/

Links to my site:

Introduction

https://bibleartists.wordpress.com/2013/07/14/introduction/

Graphic Arts

https://bibleartists.wordpress.com/2013/07/14/i-graphic-arts/

Architecture

https://bibleartists.wordpress.com/2013/07/14/ii-church-architecture-and-its-incorporation-of-art/

Music

https://bibleartists.wordpress.com/2013/07/14/iii-music/

Theology

https://bibleartists.wordpress.com/2013/07/14/iv-theology/

Home Page

https://bibleartists.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

