Quotes That I Have Gathered – E

Encounter

There is an important thing, which I have told many people and which my father told me, and which his father told him.  When you encounter another person, when you have dealings with anyone at all, it is as if a question is being put to you.  So you must think, What is the Lord asking of me in this moment, in this situation?  If you confront insult or antagonism, your first impulse will be to respond in kind.  But if you think, as it were, This is an emissary sent from the Lord, and some benefit is intended for me, first of all the occasion to demonstrate my faithfulness, the chance to show that I do in some small degree participate in the grace that saved me, you are free to act otherwise than as circumstances would seem to dictate.  You are free to act by your own lights.  You are freed at the same time of the impulse to hate or resent that person.  He would probably laugh at the thought that the Lord sent him to you for your benefit (and his), but that is the perfection of the disguise, his own ignorance of it.

Marilynne Robinson, Gilead.

Eternal Life

When I hear the phrase “eternal life,” I don’t immediately think of the peace and joy of those who have passed from this life. I first think of the eternal life which has become manifest tome as a spiritual presence of those who are no more and of those who are still alive: men whose proximity I feel primarily as spiritual beings rather than earthly existences. When human beings with all their weaknesses and defects can mean somuch to us, how much greater is our feeling for him who embraces all that is pure, spiritual, and eternal. In this saying, “I am with you,” lies the fate of every human life.

Schweitzer, Sermon “Christ in Our Life,” 1904

Ethics

Good . . . is not an abstraction but a process, movement, constantly accepting the world and people and taking part in their life; and so ethics is helping people ‘to share in life’, it is the Christlike in the midst of the human.

Bonhoeffer p. 624 The Same and the Sacrifice

Mankind has become so much one family that we cannot insure our own prosperity except by insuring that of everyone else. If you wish to be happy yourself, you must resign yourself to seeing others also happy.

Bertrand Russell’s Best, edited by Robert E. Egner. [Note and compare, however, Fromm’s definition of religion and his conclusion that healthy religion is necessary to mental health.]

The business of a philosopher is to understand the world and if people solve their social problems Religion will die out.

Bertrand Russell’s Best, edited by Robert E. Egner

Ethics are responsibilitywithout limit towards all that lives.

Albert Schweitzer

Man has lost the capacity to foresee and forestall. He will end by destroying the earth.

Albert Schweitzer

What we seem to forget is that, yes, the sun will continue to rise and set and themoon will continue to move across the skies, but mankind can create a situation inwhich the sun and moon can look down upon an earth that has been stripped of all life.

Albert Schweitzer

Eternity

The source of temporal life is eternity. Eternity pours itself into the world. But Eternity is beyond all categories of thought.

Joseph Campbell, The Hero’s Adventure

Eternity has nothing to do with time. Eternity is that dimension of here and now that all thinking in temporal terms cuts off. And if you don’t get it here, you won’t get it anywhere.

Joseph Campbell, The Hero’s Adventure

There is some level of eternity in those whose lives each of us has shaped in relationships both professional and personal. . . .  Spong, Why Christianity Must Change or Die, p. 211

The being of Jesus touched, opened, and revealed the Ground of Being.  When my being is enhanced by love, called to a new reality by love, introduced through love to limitless freedom, then I believe that I have touched that which is timeless, eternal, and real.  My confidence in eternal life, life beyond the limits of finitude and death, is found in that experience, and my doorway into that experience is still the one who, for me, seems to have embodied it, Jesus whom I call Christ.  In the community of people who constitute themselves as disciples of this Jesus, I stil experience, above all else, the call of this ‘Christ to live, to love, and to be.  That is what it means to me to live “in Christ,” a phrase Paul used constantly.  So my doorway into and my hope for life that is transcendent and eternal is located at this point.  I stand here convinced that there is something real beyond my ultimate limits.  I have tasted it.  So I embrace this vision and life in this hope.  Spong, Why Christianity Must Change or Die, p.218.

Evil

Whatever you do is evil for someone. This is one of the ironies of the whole creation. You’ve got to say yes to life and see it as magnificent this way: for this is surely the way God intended it….. Pain is part of there being a world at all.

Joseph Campbell, The Hero’s Adventure. Compare Schweitzer’s “reverence for life.” See also Marjorie Suchocki, God, Christ, Church on justice.

“Good” for the humanistic conscience is all that furthers life; “evil” is all that arrests and strangles it.

Erich Fromm, You Shall Be as Gods

Evolution

Teilhard said of his development of the notion of evolution: “just at the right moment, like a seed sprung from I don’t know where.” This notion, says Corte, was stirred by Bergson’s Creative Evolution, 1906. It is much broader than that of Darwin and Lamarck, more like, as Corte describes it “the very law of the Universe created in Space‑Time.”

Nicolas Corte, Pierre Teilhard de Chardin: His Life and Spirit

Corte quotes Teilhard de Chardin: “Little by little I grew more and more conscious, less as an abstract notion than as a presence of a profound, ontological total drift of the Universe around me: so conscious of this that it filled my whole horizon.” For Teilhard Evolution was this drift, a vital reality and not mere hypothesis.

Nicolas Corte, Pierre Teilhard de Chardin: His Life and Spirit

Max Begouens met Teilhard in war and through war experiences lost his faith. He confronted Teilhard with this loss of faith after the war, and Teilhard responded. “Very simply, with that kindness and affection which never seemed to leave him, he expounded to me his ideas on Creation, the meaning of Evolution, the supreme and active part played in the Evolution of the Cosmos by Christ. . . [T]he Father gave me explanations that threw light on everything. He gave me the answer I had so long been waiting for.”

Nicolas Corte, Pierre Teilhard de Chardin: His Life and Spirit

Links to my site:

Introduction https://bibleartists.wordpress.com/2013/07/14/introduction/

Graphic Arts https://bibleartists.wordpress.com/2013/07/14/i-graphic-arts/

Architecture https://bibleartists.wordpress.com/2013/07/14/ii-church-architecture-and-its-incorporation-of-art/

Music https://bibleartists.wordpress.com/2013/07/14/iii-music/

Theology https://bibleartists.wordpress.com/2013/07/14/iv-theology/

Home Page https://bibleartists.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

